Airbnb and short-term rental rules in Wolfville, Nova Scotia

Written by Casa Scotia, a Nova Scotia short-term rental manager. Not affiliated with any municipality or the Province. How we keep our interest out of it →

At a glance

It depends on the zone, and the zone is only the first test. Permitted with conditions in residential zones (proof of primary residence, three rooms, a whole-house day cap), as a hotel use downtown, not in the low-density accessory zone.

Can I?
  • The home you live in (as Wolfville’s by-law defines it) In some zones
  • A home you don’t live in In some zones
Land use
What do I need?
  • Municipal step: Development Permit for a short-term rental (Land Use Bylaw s.4.29)
  • then register with the Province
Municipal step
What does it cost?
  • Development Permit for a short-term rental (Land Use Bylaw s.4.29): Ask the Town of Wolfville's Community Development office what fee the Municipal Fees Policy sets for a short-term rental Development Permit.
  • The home you live in: $50 a year
  • Commercial short-term rental (a home you don’t live in): $500 per unit a year
  • Personal vacation home (a home you don’t live in, kept mainly for your own use): $50, or $150 with five or more bedrooms
  • No total: the Development Permit for a short-term rental (Land Use Bylaw s.4.29) fee isn’t published
Costs
Who collects what?
  • No marketing levy (as of 28 Sep 2026)
Marketing levy

Checked 27 Sep 2026 against 5 sources (3 official) · Changed 6 Oct 2026 · Next check 28 Oct 2026 · How we check →

General information, not advice. How to confirm →

The Town of Wolfville, Nova Scotia, ties most short-term rentals to the operator's primary residence: in its residential zones, the Land Use Bylaw asks for proof of it and limits rooms and whole-house days. The Downtown and Mixed Use zones are the exception, where a short-term rental counts as a hotel use.

Wolfville is a separate municipality from the Municipality of the County of Kings, which has its own guide and its own land-use rules.

Is a short-term rental allowed here?

Across the unit

  • The home you live in (as Wolfville’s by-law defines it) In some zonesIn the R-2, R-3, R-4 and R-5 zones and on Schedule A3 lots, a short-term rental is permitted with conditions: proof of primary residence, at most three rental rooms, a whole house no more than 150 days per year, a fire and life safety inspection, proof of insurance and a fee. It is also allowed in the MU and DT zones but not in R-1A.
  • A home you don’t live in In some zonesA whole-home short-term rental where the owner does not live there is allowed only in the Downtown (DT) and Mixed Use (MU) zones, where short-term rentals count as a hotel use and the primary-residence and 150-day conditions do not apply.
  • a whole house for not more than 150 days per year (s.4.29.3; the by-law says per year, not per calendar year); not in the DT and MU zones
  • no more than three rental rooms (s.4.29.2), or the whole house for at most 150 days a year (s.4.29.3); neither applies in the DT and MU zones (s.4.29.7)

“4.29 SHORT-TERM RENTALS The following special provisions shall apply to short-term rentals: 1. Short-term rentals shall only be permitted where proof of primary residence is provided to the Development Officer. 2. No more than three rental rooms are permitted. 3. Notwithstanding Subsection 4.29.2, a whole house may be rented not more than 150 days per year. 4. In the case of a rental situation, written confirmation from the Landlord shall be provided. 5. A Fire and Life Safety Inspection shall be conducted on the premises before any Development Permit is issued. 6. Proof of insurance shall be provided to the Development Officer. 7. Subsections 4.29.1 through 4.29.6 do not apply to the DT and MU zones. In these zones, short-term rentals are considered a hotel use. 8. A fee shall be provided as per the Municipal Fees Policy. 9. Short-term rentals shall not be subject to the size restrictions specified in Subsection 4.16.6. [Part 24] Short-term Rental means the rental of a dwelling unit or part thereof for overnight stay to the travelling public for a period of 28 days or less and includes a bed and breakfast or similar use.”

Town of Wolfville Land Use Bylaw (Approved by Council May 13, 2026; Effective September 2, 2026) · In force since 2 Sep 2026

Town of Wolfville Land Use Bylaw (Approved by Council May 13, 2026; Effective September 2, 2026) (Town of Wolfville) · checked 6 Oct 2026 · Confirmed in source

Outside Downtown and Mixed Use, the test is residence, not ownership: an owner who lives elsewhere can't rent there, and a tenant who operates one also needs the landlord's written confirmation. The R-1A zone doesn't permit short-term rentals, and the CDD, institutional, park and agriculture zones don't list them.

Ask Town of Wolfville, Community Development, 902-542-5767, contact page what counts as a primary residence, whether the yearly day limit runs by calendar year, and which permission applies to a lot on the Schedule A3 map.

Municipal step

Municipal step · Permit

Development Permit for a short-term rental (Land Use Bylaw s.4.29)

Issued by
Development Officer, Town of Wolfville Community Development
Needs first
Ask the Town of Wolfville's Community Development office what proof of primary residence the Development Officer accepts under Land Use Bylaw s.4.29.1.
Conditions
  • Proof of primary residence provided to the Development Officer (not required in the DT and MU zones)
  • No more than three rental rooms, or a whole house for a capped number of days a year (not in DT and MU)
  • A Fire and Life Safety Inspection before the permit is issued
  • Proof of insurance
  • A tenant operator provides the landlord's written confirmation
Fee
Ask the Town of Wolfville's Community Development office what fee the Municipal Fees Policy sets for a short-term rental Development Permit.
Applies to
Both the home you live in and a home you don’t
Processing time
not published
Term
not stated

The Land Use Bylaw leaves a short-term rental's fee to the Town's Municipal Fees Policy and, outside the Downtown and Mixed Use zones, requires a fire and life safety inspection before any Development Permit is issued. Ask Town of Wolfville, Community Development, 902-542-5767, contact page which document it issues for provincial registration.

Steps and costs

  1. Check the zone of the lot and confirm the use with Town of Wolfville, Community Development, 902-542-5767, contact page.
  2. Development Permit for a short-term rental (Land Use Bylaw s.4.29), from Development Officer, Town of Wolfville Community Development. Details
  3. Renew the Development Permit for a short-term rental (Land Use Bylaw s.4.29) (not stated).

Then register each unit with the Province and show the number on every listing. The provincial checklist →

What it costs an owner
CostThe home you live inCommercial short-term rental (a home you don’t live in)
Development Permit for a short-term rental (Land Use Bylaw s.4.29)Ask the Town of Wolfville's Community Development office what fee the Municipal Fees Policy sets for a short-term rental Development Permit.Ask the Town of Wolfville's Community Development office what fee the Municipal Fees Policy sets for a short-term rental Development Permit.
Provincial registration$50 a year$500 per unit a year
First year, municipal and provincialNo total: the Development Permit for a short-term rental (Land Use Bylaw s.4.29) fee isn’t published

On a phone, swipe the table sideways to see both columns.

A personal vacation home (a home you don’t live in, kept mainly for your own use; 150 rental days per registration year; an applicant may register only one personal vacation home) registers as a traditional tourist accommodation instead: $50, or $150 with five or more bedrooms a year (Regulations s.2(1), s.14).

The levy and HST are charged to guests, not owners; they are in Marketing levy.

Marketing levy

None · reported

We found no marketing levy in Wolfville (the Valley Regional Enterprise Network's tourism page and the Town's by-law index (no levy by-law listed); not confirmed from council records) as of 28 Sep 2026.

Provincial registration

Register each unit with the Province before advertising it. The first application includes Wolfville’s land-use document; a renewal doesn’t need it again unless the Province asks.

Fee here: $50 a year for the home you live in; $500 per unit a year for a commercial short-term rental (a home you don’t live in); a personal vacation home pays the traditional rate, $50 or $150.

Show the registration number on every listing, and renew by April 1 each year.

Everything else the Province requires →

Other local rules

Town of Wolfville is in tier 2 of the Province's Schedule A. A commercial short-term rental (a home you don't live in) pays the tier 2 fee per unit each year. A personal vacation home, kept mainly for its owner's use, pays the lower traditional rate, and a primary residence the primary-residence fee.

Source · checked 28 Sep 2026 · Confirmed in source

What we haven't confirmed yet

Nearby and often confused

Wolfville is at the edge of our service area. The calculator checks the address and tells you whether we can manage there.

Casa Scotia manages short-term rentals within ~90 minutes of Halifax, including Wolfville.

Check the requirements for an address →

Email me when Wolfville’s rules change

Rule-change alert for Wolfville

Sent by Casa Scotia, a Nova Scotia short-term rental manager (casascotia.com, (902) 707-0329). Every message carries an unsubscribe link.

Rule-change alerts aren’t switched on yet, so this form doesn’t send anything.

Frequently asked questions

Can I rent out a whole house in Wolfville if I don't live there?

Only in the Downtown and Mixed Use zones, where the Land Use Bylaw treats a short-term rental as a hotel use and its primary-residence test doesn't apply. In the other zones that permit short-term rentals, the home must be the operator's primary residence. Is a short-term rental allowed here?

Is there a yearly day limit on renting my whole home in Wolfville?

Yes, outside the Downtown and Mixed Use zones: the Land Use Bylaw caps the days a year a whole house can be rented, and a partial rental at a set number of rooms. Ask Town of Wolfville, Community Development, 902-542-5767, contact page whether that year is a calendar year. Is a short-term rental allowed here?

Which Wolfville zones permit an Airbnb?

The R-2, R-3, R-4 and R-5 residential zones, lots on the Schedule A3 map, and the Downtown and Mixed Use zones; the R-1A zone doesn't. To find a lot's zone, ask Town of Wolfville, Community Development, 902-542-5767, contact page. Is a short-term rental allowed here?

Does a Wolfville short-term rental need a permit before provincial registration?

Outside the Downtown and Mixed Use zones, the Land Use Bylaw requires a fire and life safety inspection before any Development Permit is issued for one. Ask Town of Wolfville, Community Development, 902-542-5767, contact page which document the Town issues for provincial registration. Municipal step Provincial registration

Who to contact

Offices only; this page carries no personal names or e-mail addresses.

Sources

WhatSourceCheckedStatus
Land useTown of Wolfville Land Use Bylaw (Approved by Council May 13, 2026; Effective September 2, 2026) (Town of Wolfville)6 Oct 2026Confirmed in source
Municipal step (Licence or permit)Town of Wolfville Land Use Bylaw (approved by Council 13 May 2026; effective 2 September 2026) (Town of Wolfville)6 Oct 2026Confirmed in source
Marketing levySource28 Sep 2026Reported by the Valley Regional Enterprise Network's tourism page and the Town's by-law index (no levy by-law listed)
Other local ruleSource28 Sep 2026Confirmed in source
Provincial sources (the same on every guide)
Provincial registrationProvince of Nova Scotia28 Sep 2026Confirmed in source
HSTCanada Revenue Agency27 Sep 2026Confirmed in source

On a phone, swipe the table sideways to see every column.

“Confirmed in source” means we read it in the official document on the date shown; it isn’t a legal opinion. How we check →

This page’s data: /regulations/data/units/town-of-wolfville.json

Changes to this guide

  1. 6 Oct 2026 · Guide published